Lightning 100 Presents Hard Working Americans featuring Todd Snider and Dave Schools

Nashville, TN – What do you get when you take a batch of incredible songs, five veteran players who have never played together, with an arsenal of five musical minds working in unison to reinvent them? You get Hard Working Americans. Hard Working Americans is the self-titled debut from this new musicians’ collective, scheduled for a January 21 release on Melvin Records/Thirty Tigers. Genres meld seamlessly with the birth of this group, featuring artists from the Americana, singer/songwriter, experimental, jam and rock communities. Hard Working Americans is: Todd Snider (vox), Dave Schools of Widespread Panic (bass), Neal Casal of The Chris Robinson Brotherhood (guitars/vox), Chad Staehly of Great American Taxi (keys) and Duane Trucks of Col. Bruce Hampton's school of music and Trucks family lineage (drums). Hard Working Americans features 11 tracks written by a range of artists that include Randy Newman, Lucinda Williams, Kevin Gordon, Hayes Carll, Kevn Kinney (Drivin’ ‘N Cryin’), Gillian Welch & Dave Rawlings, Brian Henneman (The Bottle Rockets), Will Kimbrough, Tommy Womack, Kieran Kane, Chuck Mead (BR5-49), Don Herron and Frankie Miller (Elizabeth Cook).

As the five band members came together, they had no idea what to expect. Snider, known more as a songwriter than interpreter of songs, would just start singing and clapping, which then set the creative ideas in motion with his new band mates. This was uncharted territory as the players had not worked together previously, but it became an uninhibited, creative and fruitful environment as their chemistry was almost instant, a very pleasant surprise. In the end, the group created fresh and uniquely original arrangements of great songs, led by Snider’s intrepid vocals and backed by a band of virtuosos. The songs were then sequenced in an order that tells a story of the everyday person, the blue-collar worker, the frustrated, the struggling, the Hard Working American.

Hard Working Americans was produced by Dave Schools and Todd Snider. Special guests include John Popper and John Keane. The album was recorded at Bob Weir’s TRI Studios is San Rafael, CA, mastered by Bob Ludwig and mixed by John Keane.

Turbo Fruits, led by Jonas Stein (formerly of Be Your Own Pet) is a group of three rambunctions dudes. Jonas, Matt and Dave all live in Tennessee and can't get enough of it. They enjoy this list of "things" very much:

1. A day out on the river

2. A day out on the lake 

3. Taking their shirts off

4. Shitting with the door open

5. Turkey hunting 

6. Riding and making love to motorcycles 

7. Walking around the house in underwear

8. Big ass titties

9. Goin really really fast

10. A good bar 

11. Bad jokes

12. Joints

13. Cliff jumping

14. Rope-swings

15. Cheap domestic beer

16. Big dogs

17. the farm 

18. Chainsaws

19. Turnin' it up really loud 

20. Paint mares

21. Hot tubs 

22. Porn

23. Cookouts 

24. Camping 

25. Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays

Turbo Fruits have toured with Monotonix, The Black Lips and The Lovvers. Their 2nd album, Echo Kid, is on Fat Possum Records.

What press are saying:

Time Out New York: "Turbo Fruits' effortlessly tuneful swagger reminds you in a flash that rock & roll is an either-you've got-it-or-you-don't endeavor. This Nashville trio includes the guitarist from teen-punk sensations Be Your Own Pet but comes across as even more fun and raucous."

Nashville Scene: "We've not seen anything quite like it in some time, maybe ever. Pretty damn phenomenal."

Dazed & Confused: "Dwelling in the same booze-filled gutter of rock 'n' roll as The Black Lips, this side project from Be Your Own Pet is noisy, out of tune and completely amazing. Sounding like vintage Stooges and Lies-era G 'n' R, the teenage duo revel in making dirty, turbo-charged songs about being young and out of control."

$25 ADV/$28 DOS

Off Sale

Minors are welcome but must meet these requirements:
1. Minor must present a valid government issued form of identification. Examples include drivers license, passport, military ID, and birth certificate. (non-photo ID is acceptable for minors only). All patron's not accompanied by a parent or legal guardian must present valid government issued photo identification for entry.
2. The minor's legal guardian must attend & accompany the minor at all times.
3. The parent or legal guardian must present valid government issued photo identification for entry.
4. The parent or legal guardian must present proof of guardianship.
Please call 615-891-1781 with any questions
Absolutely no refunds - no exceptions. Lineups and times are subject to change.
Gov't issued ID required. No re-entry.
Click here for answers to frequently asked questions about our venue.

add to your calendar

Who’s Going


Upcoming Events
Marathon Music Works


Lightning 100 Presents Hard Working Americans featuring Todd Snider and Dave Schools with Turbo Fruits

Friday, February 21 · Doors 7:00 PM / Show 8:00 PM at Marathon Music Works

Off Sale