Light Heat

The fact that Quentin Stoltzfus has not released a record since Mazarin’s We’re Already There (2005) borders on absurd, but know this: that whole time, Quentin Stoltzfus was writing and recording the collection of tunes presented henceforth under the name Light Heat. Written and recorded in the hours and days between producing albums for friends and pulling hours as a professional mover, Light Heat's self-titled album came together in a stone barn with a world-class recording studio he helped to build, a yurt in the deep woods of Virginia, and his home studio in the Philly neighborhood of Fishtown.
Written, re-written, recorded and re-recorded over seven years, the sessions making up this album ultimately came together with the help of an assembled group of old friends including Paul Maroon, Matt Barrick, Peter Bauer and Walter Martin from the popular recording and live group, The Walkmen, while producing, engineering and mixing duties were helmed by Quentin himself.
The result is an album chock full of metaphysical news. The group manages to weave classic references with the sound of the future. Embodied within you'll find sweet soft harmonies alongside guitar pyrotechnics and a rhythm section adrift in time signatures recalling Can, Faust, Cluster, you get the picture? Light Heat is without doubt the creative extension of writer Quentins previous efforts yet thanks to the passing of time, the loss of the name Mazarin to… well, another Mazarin. Light Heat is less a new direction for Quentin and much more a new beginning


Following the 2009 dissolution of his longtime band Apollo Sunshine, guitarist/vocalist/songwriter Sam Cohen began recording on his own in a bedroom studio, expanding on the same indie psych sound with understated country touches that he'd worked with in his previous band. Cohen chose the moniker Yellowbirds for the project, enlisting some friends to help him flesh out the songs, and eventually released a few singles and in early 2011 a debut album, The Color. To tour in support of the album, Cohen assembled a full-time band to back him up consisting of drummer Brian Kantor, multi-instrumentalist Josh Kaufman, and bassist Annie Nero. When working on songs for the follow-up album, Cohen chose to write solely on an acoustic guitar, hoping to create songs in an unpolished form before ornamenting them in the studio. This writing process resulted in 2013's sophomore album Songs from the Vanished Frontier.


Featuring members of ARC IN ROUND, LANTERN, Downtown Club, and Break it UP.



Who’s Going

Upcoming Events