GOLDEN SUITS (Fred Nicolaus of Department of Eagles)

GOLDEN SUITS (Fred Nicolaus of Department of Eagles)

Golden Suits is Fred Nicolaus of the band Department of Eagles. He wrote or cowrote
with Daniel Rossen many of the group's best known songs, including "No
One Does it Like You," "Teenagers," "While We're Young," and "Herringbone."
Their last album, In Ear Park, was awarded ʻBest New Music by Pitchfork and
made The New York Times' year-end top ten list.
Golden Suits is Nicolaus' first project working alone. It was inspired by a strange
year that saw him get chased out of an apartment by a rat infestation, go through
a painful breakup, travel to Germany to learn about his grandfather's death in
WWII, go broke, and lose forty pounds. Throughout that chaotic time, he became
obsessed with a book of short stories by the fiction writer John Cheever, and
started writing songs that blended his own experiences with fragments from the
book (the name "Golden Suits" is a reference to the final line of a Cheever story).
The result is a collection of ten songs that combine nostalgia, sentimentality,
skewed references to a book about suburban marriage in the 1950s, personal
confessions and abstract non-sequitors that take a shot at the sublime.
Musically, the songs follow the thread of Department of Eagles' swervy take on
classic pop in the vein of Randy Newman, Van Dyke Parks, Paul Simon, and
Lennon and McCartney solo. Nicolaus, who generally wrote the simpler, poppier
material in DoE, followed the mold of ʻtake a straightforward, direct song and play
with it until there's something interesting going on.ʼ Working outside of the band
was a chance to indulge in production ideas that wouldn't have flown within it, like
the Graceland-inspired one-two beat and female vocals on "Swimming in '99" or
the unadorned piano ballad feel for "Restaurant Song."
Throughout the recording process, Nicolaus played most of the instruments, but
had help from a talented group of friends including Chris Bear and Chris Taylor
from Grizzly Bear; Fraser McCulloch from Milagres (who engineered the album);
Becca Kauffman and Felicia Douglass from Ava Luna; Kris Nolte and Ian Davis
from Mason Jar Music (who arranged strings); and Daniel Rossen (who sang
harmonies and was an all-around supportive spirit). All in all, the album took
about two years of writing and recording in several studios and psuedo-studios in
Brooklyn to finish.



here Is Danger is a band from Phoenix, AZ. Current performing lineup includes Ills Riske, Stefan Handlong, Daniel Ybarra, Bryan Garay, Jake Arrington, and Kevin Vaughn-Brubaker.

Pretty music with big voices, small voices, guitars, drums, bass, violins, flutes, melodicas, a variety of keyboards and drums.



Who’s Going


Upcoming Events
Sail Inn

  • Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events.