Blame it on the Ramones. After Deerhoof finished recording demos for La Isla Bonita this past February, they began rehearsing for an upcoming tour. Halfway through a run-through of a long-time Deerhoof live favorite, their cover of the Ramones classic "Pinhead," someone offhandedly asked, "Why don't we ever write a song like this?" So Greg quickly dashed off a song on a scrap of paper, showed it to the band, and they recorded the breakneck stomper "Exit Only" in one take.

La Isla Bonita was recorded in guitarist Ed Rodriguez's basement. Situated next to a parking garage, it was perfect for making noise till the wee hours. They recorded live, DIY style, "a weeklong sleepover arguing over whether to try and sound like Joan Jett or Janet Jackson, cracking each other up, one guitarist whose name starts with J always putting too much red chile into the rations," says Greg. But more than that La Isla Bonita is about the eclectic worldwide community that has supported them.

You'll hear them pay musical tributes to their improbable list of heroes-turned-fans: David Bowie, Ric Ocasek, The Roots, Lou Reed, David Byrne, Sonic Youth, The Flaming Lips, Radiohead, Beck. Of course their intent is never reverence, but provocation. They are always on the hunt for that perfect union of the hilarious and the terrifying that one hears in other bands of their generation like Bikini Kill and Lightning Bolt. 2014 has been a killer year for young, aggressive female-fronted bands (St. Vincent, Tune-Yards, Perfect Pussy, Karen O, Speedy Ortiz) and La Isla Bonita is also partly a discourse with them.

To produce the vocals they tapped former journalist-turned-label owner and producer Nick Sylvester, and that's where the album's pop side comes out: Satomi's singing is front and center, and if it sounds like she's commanding the band, it's because she was. "Satomi determined the direction the music would go," says Greg. As the inevitable temptation to sweeten the mix and edit down the takes crept in, Satomi kept everything focused on repeating grooves and simple arrangements. This is the glorious sound of four musicians owning their own hard-won and richly deserved legacy.

Precisely 30 years after the original album's release, LXMP offers its take on Hancock's 'Future Shock' - the record from which everybody knows, and loves, the piece 'Rock It' and nothing else. The record which was supposed to be the dawn of the 21st century and so on and so forth. To answer the commission of Unsound festival, whose theme for 2011 was "Future Shock" (a reference, naturally, to Alvin Toffler's book), Piotrek and Maciek decided to take the easy path and delve into the world of synthesizers, the back-then-ominous MIDI sound, digital reverbs, horrific longueurs and Bill Laswell. In their interpretation, they did all they could to cross out everything from that list, except the synthesizers. And the drums. And the broad use of the vocoder. And Thymme Jones of Cheer-Accident who laid down the drums on the title track.
Before the release, the band managed to showcase the material at a few live gigs in Poland, Europe and the cradle of futureshockism - the US, where their rendition met with deep understanding and respect from the MIDI people.
'Back To The Future Shock' is published in two formats: CD and LP. To honor historical truth, the CD features a bonus track - a remix of 'Rockit', created by Brazilian artist Mauricio Takara.

* additional support for LXMP provided by the Polish Cultural Institute New York

Bret Bender and Madeleine Miller are the indie pop duo Bogan Via. They self-recorded and self-released five amazing songs earlier this year via bandcamp that have resulted in quite a bit of blog attention and growing recognition here in Phoenix. Bender and Madeleine started recording a new batch of songs (and a few off of the original EP) at Flying Blanket Recording in July, the result of those sessions is the EP Wait Up, which was released on October 29th. Prior to the EP release, local AZ promoter Jeremiah Gratza released one of the songs, "TES", on 7" baby pink vinyl with a remix by Miniature Tigers as the B-side. A few other remixes are in the works that will be announced shortly and made available as promotional MP3s. Along with recording and preparing for the release of their new EP, Bogan Via have stayed busy playing bigger and bigger live shows in Phoenix, including opening for national acts like Twin Shadow and White Arrows. Also in the works is a soon to be premiered video for "Afternoon Wonderland", one of the songs from the original EP that was re-recorded for Wait Up.

$14.00 - $17.00


**Tickets purchased on day of show at the door will have $1 facility fee applied **

Who’s Going


Upcoming Events