Holy Ghost!

Holy Ghost!

Holy Ghost! (DFA) are born and bred New Yorkers Alex Frankel and Nick Millhiser. The two disco and hot sauce enthusiasts met in elementary school and have been playing in bands together ever since. Yes, they've managed to branch out that little.

After working as studio musicians and live players for DFA Records honchos James Murphy, Tim Goldsworthy, and Juan Maclean, Frankel and Millhiser formed Holy Ghost! over a shared love of analog synthesizers, Larry Levan era-disco, and good old fashioned pop music. At the insistence of Murphy, the duo released their first original song, "Hold On," on DFA Records. The song's recipe - a mix of Italo beats and pop
vocals sans irony - hit a chord worldwide and became a major cross over success. Club support from DJ's as different as A-Trak and David Mancuso came instantly, and mainstream support followed suit. Itunes named "Hold On" Single of The Week and spawned thousands of downloads daily.

Propelled by the success of "Hold On," Holy Ghost! released a string of hit remixes for artists like MGMT, Cut Copy, Phoenix, and Moby, and traveled across the world DJ'ing on every continent (except Antartica). The group's second original single, " I Will Come Back," received further critical acclaim from taste makers like Pitchfork and saw heavy rotation on MTV2 with a brilliant, New Order inspired video. After releasing a cover swap with British band Friendly Fires on XL/DFA, the duo will unveil their Live band and release an EP of new, original music on DFA in early 2010. To support it, they'll open up for LCD Soundsystem in the US and then head to Europe to play summer festivals. Their full length debut is due out later this year.

Midnight Magic

Midnight Magic: A nine person ensemble bonded by the unwavering desire to make you, the listener, and the rhythm become one; the secret love children of Donna Summer and George Clinton serving up an orgasmic feast of funk, disco, electro and soul.
Anchored by former "H&LA" alumni Carter Yatusake, Morgan Wiley, and W. Andrew Raposo and powered by the enormous vocals of chanteuse Tiffany Roth, Midnight Magic teleported the masses to the dance floor this summer with their interstellar 12″ "Beam Me Up" on Permanent Vacation.

Rounding out the Brooklyn based unit is Caito Sanchez, Nick Roseboro, Max Goldman, Jason Disu and Andrew Frawley.

Spring 2011 will see their long awaited follow up single "Drop Me A Line" on Permanent Vacation. Mixed by former DFA house engineer and Sticky Disc founder Eric Broucek and featuring remixes by the likes of Juan Maclean (among others), this fiery banger is sure to become the anthem of the love-slave evolution on Alpha Centauri if not dance music lovers all over the galaxy.

$14.00 - $17.00


Who’s Going


Upcoming Events
Club Dada