The Highway, Isle of Rhodes, New Politicians, Wild Rompit

The Highway

The New York-based psychedelic rock band The Highway came into being nearly a decade ago. Daniel Tortoledo (vocals and bass), Adam Douglass (guitar), Griffin McMahon (keys) and Ted MacInnes (drums) connected over shared influences, both earthly and intangible: Philosophy. Perspective. The vastness of outer space. Mysticism. Hitchcock’s psychological mindfucks. Grassy fields and dense forests. Color. The expansiveness of the United States. The result of their collaboration is a singular sound—one that has the ability to completely take you over. Within the cacophonous, but highly orchestrated, rock trances is a writing process steeped in tradition. The Highway adheres to the mantra of less is more, and there is order here in the chaos of sound. Starting with simple chords, the band creates a spacious structure in which to elaborate. Adding psychedelic arrangements and soulful lyrics (sung with fervor by Daniel Tortoledo) they infect with potent nostalgia. They elicit a feeling of having discovered something entirely new. Their songs ebb and flow, often building to a riot—a well-crafted wall of sound, punctuated by the tweaked out echoes of dreams and philosophical spoken lyrics. In September 2010, The Highway released their first album: Forest People. And after a month-long winter tour of the US, The Highway returned home with the basis for their sophomore album. In June (2012), they laid down their new tracks at a Converse-sponsored studio in NYC. Very soon in March 1 the band is hitting the road with the hopes of coming back to the city with new material to be recorded soon.

Isle of Rhodes

Isle of Rhodes was founded in the spring of 2011 by front man and keyboardist Rob Farren. Farren, who had previously played keys with Aphonic (of Detroit), and synth bass with Kiss or Kill decided that he would like to strip his rig down to one keyboard: a Rhodes. An eclectic choice for an instrument, the Rhodes is a vintage keyboard with similar circuitry to an electric guitar. The Rhodes was made famous by the work of soul and funk artists, such as Stevie Wonder, and Bernie Worrell. Farren, influenced by that sound, focused on creating a contemporary rock version of Rhodes playing. Using all analog gear, including tape delay, distortion, wah, and phaser pedals, Farren has sculpted a sound evocative of a three-piece guitar band. Featuring Colin Behram on drums, this two-piece band, has garnered attention for its flowing melodies and huge sound, drawing comparisons to bands such as The Shins, The Magnetic Fields, and Radiohead.

Isle of Rhodes’ first studio length album “All Rivers and Oceans” was recorded with Grammy winning producer Jason Corsaro (Steve Winwood, Duran Duran, Motorhead, Madonna) and co-producer David Lloyd of Social Hero. Machine Dream Records will release the album in April of 2012. “All Rivers and Oceans” is not a just a collection of songs but a true body of work. Farren set out to use the recording studio as an instrument in its own right. According to Farren the band “didn’t want to limit [itself] to just replicate the live show, but to fully produce a piece of art.” To that end, in addition to his Rhodes, Farren used Piano, and Hammond B3 organ. Farren also brought in strings, and auxiliary percussionist Gerardo Velez (Jimi Hendrix). Farren’s extraordinary vocal performances are found throughout the record, punctuating each song with his versatile approach. Some songs remind the listener of Freddie Mercury, while others of John Lennon, and David Bowie. The creative arrangement of the backups vocals, performed by Ian Lloyd (Stories, Foreigner), David Lloyd, and Farren himself, serve only to enhance these amazing performances. This combined with Farren’s moving, and smart lyrics take the listener on a journey through the human soul. The unique combination of all these amazing elements creates an incredible album in “All Rivers and Oceans.”

New Politicians

New Politicians are a four piece Post-Punk, Alternative Rock band from Centerville, NJ. The band consists of Renal Anthony (vocals/guitar), Evan Glickman (drums), Winston Mitlo (bass), and Gian Cortese (guitar/keyboards/vocals). Formed in October 2012, they began writing their song catalog and honing their live sound. In March 2013 the band released their first official EP entitled 'Alpha Decay'. This three track release is available for download on their BandCamp webpage.

Wild Rompit

Wild Rompit is an indie/folk/rock group that consists of four Jersey boys that met at Drexel University in February of 2010. Since then the four friends have been moving quickly, diving deep into the Philly art scene playing all over the tri-state area and becoming recognized as a talented up and coming band. Recently they released their first EP "Stampede" and plan to release their second EP "Bro...therhood" in mid-April. Wild Rompit brings an original sound that is inspired by early rock and roll with a taste of alternative. It is best said that Rompit is a "call from the wild," each song bringing something different to the listener.


Upcoming Events
Spike Hill

  • Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events.