Magic Trick is Tim Cohen (Fresh & Onlys, Black Fiction), Noelle Cahill, Alicia Vanden Heuvel (#poundsign#, Still Flyin), and James Kim (Kelley Stoltz Band, Court & Spark).

Empty Cellar Records is proud to announce the latest full-length album by Tim Cohen, The Glad Birth of Love. This is Tim Cohen's fourth album following his 2009 debut, The Two Sides of Tim Cohen (Empty Cellar), and two full-lengths (Laugh Tracks / Tim Cohen's Magic Trick) and one EP (Bad Blood) on New York's Captured Tracks label. Featuring guest appearances by John Dwyer (Thee Oh Sees), Grace Cooper (The Sandwitches), Diego Gonzalez (The Dry Spells, Citay), and several other San Francisco musicians, The Glad Birth of Love is the first Tim Cohen album to not directly bear his name, but the name of his band, Magic Trick. Recorded in a tower at Tim Cohen's home this album marks a departure from his signature radio-ready song craft. The Glad Birth of Love is a 45 minute album composed of four epic long-form compositions saturated with Tim's uncanny pop sensibilities and vivid lyrical imagery. Transitioning seamlessly from sparse acoustic blues, to dense bass & oud ragas, to layered of lush vocal harmonies this album is a culmination of Tim's work to date.

"As a lyricist, Fresh & Onlys frontman Tim Cohen clearly evokes the early era of rock'n'roll he also explores in his music. His chord changes are simple without being rudimentary, his lyrics are romantic without being cheesy, and-- perhaps most notably-- his output is outrageously prolific without skirting inconsistency." --Pitchfork

Wild High is a 4 piece rock and roll band from the Mile High City that is moving people with their emotional and groove-laden music. When listening to the band's debut album "SDREAMS", it is clear that their influences come equally from the past and the present, evoking the playful songwriting of Beck or Pavement, the vocal delivery of Lou Reed and Julian Casablancas, the emotional lyricism of Kurt Cobain and the sonic exploration of contemporaries like Deerhunter and Tame Impala. Wild High was formed in the summer of 2012 by singer/songwriter Cody Coffey. Looking to elevate his repertoire of songs into a full band format, he enlisted the talents of bass player Pablo Cruz, guitarist Clay Cornelius and drummer Seamus Hannan. After a year of solid gigging and the addition of a new drummer Nick Layne, the band went into the studio with sonic wizard Alex Anderson (Rose Quartz/Man Cub) to record "SDREAMS", a ten song album that was recorded live in order to faithfully capture the band's live act. The future is exciting for Wild High, who have given themselves plenty of room to expand their sonic palate into whole new dimensions. Get ready to put the silky liquid sweater of Wild High around your ears and let slinky bass riffs keep you cozy, the ever expanding guitar riffs open up your mind and the emotional vocal melodies remind you of a time that is just at the edge of your memory.



Who’s Going


Upcoming Events