Comprised of five singer/songwriters, the members of L.A.'s indie alt-country band Everest boast some impressive pedigrees, having played with groups like Earlimart, Sebadoh the Folk Implosion, Slydell, Mike Stinson, Great Northern, Alaska!, John Vanderslice, and the Watson Twins. Sharing a mutual admiration for each other's respective track records, the five were drawn together by a common desire to make classic-sounding pop songs in the style of earthy bands like Wilco and Calexico. Russell Pollard, Jason Soda, Joel Graves, Rob Douglas, and Derek Brown first assembled in 2007, and connected quickly. Graves was especially excited about the instant chemistry, remarking in interviews, "I'm getting to play with my favorite singer, my favorite bass player, my favorite guitar player, and my favorite drummer. It's the band I've always wanted to be in."

In August 2007, they entered New Monkey studio with Foo Fighters producer Mike Terry to capture a set of light, acoustic-based songs on vintage equipment. After only two weeks of recording, one week of mixing, and an afternoon of mastering, their debut album, Ghost Notes, was finished, and they started shopping it around. Neil Young's Vapor Records label -- home of Tegan and Sara and Jonathan Richman -- seemed a logical choice, and after signing there, the group made plans to tour in promotion of Ghost Notes, which was scheduled for release in May of 2008. Two years later, they returned with On Approach, an album co-released by Warner Brothers in conjunction with Vapor. The band toured ceaselessly in support of the album, but the Warner Brothers connection didn't last long. In the beginning of 2011, road-weary from constant gigging, the band was dropped from the label and set about the process of regrouping for their next album. Teaming up with producer Rob Schnapf, well known for his work with Beck, Elliott Smith and many others, the band set about on a very careful and considered recording process for their third album Ownerless, released in 2012

Sweet Leda feat. Ron Holloway

Rock and soul band Sweet Leda is powered by the sultry, commanding vocals and electrifying stage presence of Julie Cymek. "Think Adele mixed with Mary J. Blige, with a certain South Of The Mason-Dixon Line ache that’s all her own." (Tri State Indie)

The past couple years have been quite strong for the group; they released their first full-length album, Need the Music, they were named "MD/DC Band of 2011" and again in 2012 in Tri State Indie's Music Awards, voted "DC/Baltimore Best Emerging Artist of 2011" by The Deli Magazine's Reader's Poll, and were commissioned by Haxan Films ("The Blair Witch Project") and producer Mark Ordesky ("Lord of The Rings Trilogy") to arrange and record the end title credit song Lovely Molly for the feature film, "Lovely Molly."

Sweet Leda regularly features tenor-sax legend, Ron Holloway (Dizzy Gillespie, Warren Haynes, Dave Matthews) in their already strong lineup. The latest news? In June of 2013, the band was hand-picked by Allman Brothers drummer, Butch Trucks, to join members of the Allmans and the North Mississippi Allstars for an intimate show at their Roots Rock Revival Masters Camp in the Catskills.



Presented by
103.1 WRNR

Who’s Going


Upcoming Events
Rams Head On Stage