John Hiatt

John Hiatt

Mystic Pinball From John Hiatt
Available September 25, 2012 Via New West Records

"…a hypnotic, energizing and inspirational anthem of rebirth and reassurance…"
The Huffington Post Says Of The Album's First Single "We're Alright Now"

SiriusXM Outlaw Country Interview & Acoustic Performance
Premiere Broadcast Saturday, September 22 at 5pm EST

Hiatt To Appear Live On Imus In The Morning Thursday September 27

Los Angeles, CA – September 19, 2012 – Acclaimed musician and songwriter John Hiatt will release Mystic Pinball on both CD and limited edition 180-gram vinyl on September 25th via New West Records. Called "…one of rock's most astute singer-songwriters of the last 40 years" by the Los Angeles Times, Hiatt continues to write brilliant songs including "We're Alright Now," the first single from Mystic Pinball which is described by The Huffington Post as "…a hypnotic, energizing and inspirational anthem of rebirth and reassurance reminding us to once again, have a little faith in ourselves, each other and times to come." "We're Alright Now" is climbing the AAA charts this week, while the album is up to # 2 on the Americana Chart. Hiatt has several press appearances next week including an interview with Mojo Nixon and acoustic performance on SiriusXM Outlaw Country, which airs first on Saturday September 22nd at 5pm EST (re-broadcasts below*). Hiatt will also appear live on Imus In The Morning, Thursday September 27th (6am – 9am EST on Fox Business.)

Hiatt and his band, The Combo, have gained a reputation for captivating crowds at their live shows as The Tennessean depicts: "He prowls the stage, delivering the bluesy stuff in a whiskey-burn howl, shouting the rock stuff and fronting a formidable band that can turn on a dime, from ballads to bombast." Hiatt & The Combo are out now including two shows at City Winery in NYC next week (full list of dates below.)

For Mystic Pinball, Hiatt's 21st studio album, Hiatt turned to producer Kevin "Caveman" Shirley (Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Joe Bonamassa.) Shirley also produced Hiatt's highly praised Dirty Jeans And Mudslide Hymns, which the New York Times declared was "…his best since 1995." Hiatt relies on the exceptional musical skills of Doug Lancio (electric guitar, mandolin, Dobro), Kenneth Blevins (drums and percussion) and Patrick O'Hearn (bass) to play with him on the record.

John Hiatt's career as a performer and songwriter has spanned more than 30 years and everyone from Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, BB King, Bonnie Raitt and Iggy Pop has covered his work. Hiatt began his solo career with the 1974 album Hangin' Around the Observatory. His landmark 1987 release Bring The Family, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year, was his first album to chart in the U.S. 2000's Crossing Muddy Waters was called "The most natural and relaxed John Hiatt album in years…" by All Music Guide. In 2008, Hiatt released Same Old Man, was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame and was honored by the Americana Music Association with their prestigious "Lifetime Achievement in Songwriting Award." Critical acclaim continued for The Open Road (2010) with The Boston Herald praising "Hiatt knocks together a rocking, full-throttle road record that in its tone, toughness and mix of blues, r & b and country harkens back to his landmark Bring the Family" while the Associated Press proclaimed "Hiatt remains at the top of his game" in reference to Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns (2011.)

Mystic Pinball track listing:
1. We're Alright Now
2. Bite Marks
3. It All Comes Back Someday
4. Wood Chipper
5. My Business
6. I Just Don't Know What To Say
7. I Know How To Lose You
8. You're All The Reason I Need
9. One Of Them Damn Days
10. No Wicked Grin
11. Give It Up
12. Blues Can't Even Find Me

Rusty Truck



Upcoming Events
The Coach House

  • Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events.