Imperial Teen (Merge Records), Frightwig, Churches (from San Francisco)

Imperial Teen (Merge Records)

Imperial Teen was formed in San Francisco in 1995 by Roddy Bottum, Lynn Perko, Jone Stebbins and Will Schwartz. A pop aesthetic of crunchy guitar riffs and classic boy/girl harmonies quickly developed, finding all four members switching off on instruments and taking turns behind the mike. The band had barely been playing together for six months when they landed their first record deal (London / Universal) and found themselves in the studio. The result was the amazingly fresh and joyous Seasick, which tickled the fancy of many a critic and music fan alike, with its infectious pop grooves standing out in a musical climate dripping with grunge. After several unforeseen roadblocks (label inertia, recording delays) Imperial Teen went on to release What Is Not To Love in 1999, and managed to garner even more praise and adoration worldwide. They even scored an MTV-style breakthrough with their single Yoo-Hoo which landed on the Jawbreaker soundtrack, with an accompanying video featuring Rose McGowan.

After parting ways with Universal during the now infamous major label purge of a few years back, Imperial Teen miraculously found their way over to Merge and we couldn't be happier!



With the world teetering towards further chaos, it is the perfect time for the original muse of riot grrl to return in all their loud, proud, pioneering-punk rock glory.
Frightwig! The band that influenced and opened international doors for everyone from Courtney Love to Bikini Kill, are back!
Frightwig! The band who have played with the crème de la crème of alternative bands from the Butthole Surfers to The Jesus and Mary Chain to Redd Kross to Sonic Youth, are back!
Frightwig! The band who made men strip and dance onstage during live performances are back!
Frightwig! The band who told you it was a “Crazy World” we live in, who screamed of the “Big Bang”, who made clear they knew that “A Man’s Gotta Do What A Man’s Gotta Do” and who roared at you that “My Crotch Does Not Say ‘Go’” are back!

There two official ‘out of hibernation’ shows this May in California, the first at
Café Du Nord in San Francisco on Saturday May 4th with the second in Los Angeles at The Satellite alongside Imperial Teen.

There will be a new EP titled ‘Hit Return’ which will contain four previously recorded favorites plus one new tune, “Crawford’s Song”.

And Frightwig will be entering the studio later this summer to record a brand new album, set to be their 5th full-length release and following Cat Farm Faboo, Faster Frightwig, Kill! Kill!, Phonesexy and the compilation Wild Women Never Die.

Frightwig’s line-up consists of Deanna Mitchell on bass & vocals, Mia d’Bruzzi on guitar & vocals, Rebecca Sevrin on guitar & vocals, Cecilia Kuhn on drums, vocals & accordion plus the addition of keyboardist (and producer) Eric Drew Feldman, who’s work with Captain Beefheart, PJ Harvey, The Pixies and Frank Black, makes him a boy worth letting in!

You wanna know more? Keep a beady, trained eye on and

And believe us…you will wanna know more!
Until then…know that Frightwig didn’t come out of hibernation to be quiet!

Churches (from San Francisco)

C H U R C H E S plays loud, melodic power-pop, rooted in teen angst nostalgia and heavily reflecting its influences – Nirvana, Dinosaur Jr., the Pixies. Churches is salvation through distortion for the disaffected small-town weirdo in everyone – a sonic cathedral of symbols and guitars for the modern outcast. Churches features Pat from Rogue Wave and Caleb from Grand Lake.



Who’s Going

Upcoming Events
The Satellite