Sugarhill Gang & The Furious Five - 40th Anniversary Rappers Delight Tour

Sugarhill Gang

An early American hip hop trio. It was initially comprised of Wonder Mike, Big Bank Hank, and Master Gee. However, Kory-O later joined the group and as Master Gee's replacement. A few years later after multiple line-up changes, Big Bank Hank performed under the name the Original Sugarhill Gang with newer members Joey Robinson Jr., David Gunthorpe, Warren Moore and Derek Smalls portraying as Wonder Mike & Master Gee while as for the other two original members Michael Wright and Guy O'Brien performed under Rapper's Delight with new member Hendogg. After years of legal disputes Wonder Mike, Hendogg and Master Gee are currently performing under name Sugarhill Gang.

The Furious Five

On records, The Furious Five, not billed as a combo with Grandmaster Flash or Grandmaster Melle Mel, usually refers only to the group's five original MCs—Cowboy, Kid Creole, Melle Mel, Mr. Ness a.k.a. Scorpio (3), and Rahiem—or the four surviving members after Cowboy died in 1989. However, such as on many editions of the "Step Off" single, The Furious Five is sometimes an alias of Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five, a group which included only three of the five original MCs.

So generally, for releases billing The Furious Five as a combo with Grandmaster Flash, see Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five, and for releases billing The Furious Five as a combo with Melle Mel, see Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five. For most releases of "White Lines (Don't Do It)", see Grandmaster Flash & Melle Mel.

There is also The Younger Generation, an alias of The Furious Five's original lineup, ostensibly with Grandmaster Flash, for one of the group's first releases in 1979.

$30.00 - $40.00


Who’s Going

Upcoming Events
Rialto Theatre