The Beautiful Mistake & Dogwood (Reunion)

The Beautiful Mistake

Emo band from San Diego, California formed in 2000, and on hiatus since 2006. Founder and main songwriter Josh Hagquist continues to play live acoustic versions of their repertoire.


Dogwood is a punk rock band from Escondido, California founded in 1993. Their music has been compared to that of The Offspring, and they list Bad Religion, NOFX and Lagwagon as musical influences.

In 1993, Josh Kemble united with Jayce Molina on guitar, Josh Hagquist (of The Beautiful Mistake) on bass, and Billy Nichols on drums to form the band Half-Off. After a few shows, the band decided to find a better name, and a relative suggested "Dogwood" in reference to the legend of the dogwood cross.

By 1996, Dogwood had been signed by the now-defunct Rescue Records label, which was also the home for such bands as P.O.D. and No Innocent Victim. While on Rescue, Dogwood released two studio records, Good Ol' Daze and Through Thick & Thin. Dogwood andRescue Records parted ways, and then in 1998 the band self-released an eponymous album. This was later re-released without the track "Never Die" as This is Not a New Album on Facedown Records.

The band caught the eye of Tooth & Nail Records. In 1999, More Than Conquerors was released, followed by Building a Better Me in 2000, Matt Aragon in 2001, and Seismic in 2003. In 2004, Tooth & Nail released a Dogwood greatest hits album titled Reverse, Then Forward Again.

Current members

Josh Kemble: vocals
Danny Montoya: guitar / bgv's
Rob Hann: bass guitar
Russell Castillo: drums

Former members

Billy Nichols: Drums(1993)
Josh Hagquist: Bass (1993–1994) (Current Vocalist/Guitarist For The Beautiful Mistake)
Jayce Molina: Guitar (1993–1998)
Bill Driscoll: Bass (1994–1995)
Shawn Beaty: Bass,Guitar(1995–1997) (Now Lead Pastor at Clovis Hills Community Church, Clovis, CA)
Sean O'Donnell: Guitar(1997–2001) (Current Bassist for Yellowcard, Current Vocalist/Guitarist For Reeve Oliver)
Jason Harper: Bass (1997–2002)
Joe Sidoti: Drums (1998)
Scott Bergen: Bass (2002)
Andrew Montoya: Drums (2003)
Corbin King: Drums (2003–2004)
"Drummin'" Dan Ardis: Drums (2004–2006) (Current Drummer For Midnight Hour)



Upcoming Events
Chain Reaction

  • Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events.