Originally from Lachute, Qc., now Montrealer Guillaume Jabbour brings together Ormstown, Qc.'s Carl Rufh and Charlottetown, P.E.I.'s Bill Collier in this acoustic ensemble inspired by chanson Française et Québécoise, American Swing and Cajun music. Having played in various respective bands prior (Grouyan Gombo, Les Perroquets, Durham County Poets), the three decided to fuse their creative abilities to form a project focused on original works. Walking the line that all too often separates Canada’s two solitudes is what drives Jabbour’s songwriting. Their musical celebration of life’s ordinary (and not-so-ordinary) events has received acclaim across the country. They have toured in Quebec, Ontario, British Columbia and the Maritimes where they played at the Trailside Cafe on PEI and at the Coal Shed Music Festival in Yarmouth, NS. Jabbour will is playing at the 2017 edition of Folk on the Canal in Montreal and is looking forward to their second Maritimes tour, which starts at the Trailside!

Nick Doneff

Since relocating in 2013, Ontario native Nick Doneff has become a staple within the PEI music scene as a busy sideman and multi-instrumentalist. Following the December 2016 release of his debut recording, Doneff has been attracting attention for his earnest songwriting and his magnetic live performances. His song Old Dog was also recently featured on CBC’s flagship arts and culture program, Q, where host Tom Power described him as a cross between John Prine and Joel Plaskett.

Performing on the album are Nick Doneff (vocals, guitars, pedal steel, Wurlitzer piano), Josh Cavan (Wurlitzer piano), Ben Phelan (Hammond organ, Wurlitzer piano), Mark Wilson (bass), Mike Ardagh (drums, percussion), and Catherine MacLellan (vocals).
Engineering for the recording was done by Andrew Mulllin at Canterbury Music Company, Toronto, Sam Ibbett at Humber College Recording Studio, Toronto, and Adam Gallant at The Hill Sound Studio, Charlottetown. Audio was mixed by Andrew Mullin. Mastering was by Rueben Chose at Mojito Mastering, Toronto. Album design is by Nick Doneff. Cover photograph was taken by Anna Karpinski. Adam Beer-Colachino, Liam Corcoran, Nathan Gill, Mark Gedees, and Helpful Thayne are credited with “near-sober second thought.”
The 11 tracks on the CD include “Latest Hiatus,” “Easy,” “Old Dog,” “These Things Change,” “On and On,” “Jenny Jones,” “Willoughby Clay,” “Apartment Twenty-two,” “That’s Just The Deal That We Make,” “Light of Day” and “I’ve Been Alright.”
Nick performs pretty well every day of the week at numerous Island venues covering material by your favorite singer-songwriters and presenting his original music. If there’s music scheduled you’ll probably find him on the lineup.



Upcoming Events
Trailside Cafe & Inn