Greg Graffin: Population Wars

Greg Graffin (Bad Religion)

Celebrate the release of Greg Graffin's new book 'Population Wars,' to be released SEPT 15, 2015! Graffin will be playing music as well as host a reading and Q&A. Books purchased at the event will be eligible for a post-event signing.

Greg Graffin​
Greg Graffin was born in Madison, Wisconsin, and is the lead vocalist and songwriter of the legendary punk band Bad Religion, which he co-founded in Los Angeles in 1980. Graffin obtained his PhD in zoology at Cornell University. He has served as a lecturer in life sciences and paleontology at UCLA.

About Population Wars
A new perspective on the biological roots of competition from the author of Anarchy Evolution and Cornell lecturer.

Life on Earth has been defined by war from the beginning, with war between populations seen as an inevitable part of the evolutionary process. The popular understanding of “the survival of the fittest” explains and often excuses these actions. In Population Wars, Greg Graffin argues that this use of evolutionary theory is wrong, and that mistake has allowed us to justify wars even when other, less violent solutions may be available. Through tales of mass extinctions, developing immune systems, human warfare, the American industrial heartland, and our degrading modern environment, Graffin demonstrates how an over-simplified idea of war, with its victorious winners and vanquished losers, prevents us from responding to the real problems we face.

For readers of Richard Dawkins, Jared Diamond, and E.O. Wilson, Population Wars is a paradigm-shifting book about why humans behave the way they do and the science that explains their behavior.

$30 - $35

Tickets

Greg Graffin of Bad Religion  - An event to celebrate the release of his new book.

Who’s Going

Upcoming Events
Bootleg Theater - Bar Stage

  • Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events.