Communion Louisville Ft. Frederick The Younger

Communion Louisville

Communion is a monthly residency showcasing the best new music from local, national and international acts. Founded by Ben Lovett (Mumford and Sons), Kevin Jones (Bear’s Den) and producer Ian Grimble in 2006, Communion provided the first independent platform for the freshest artists in London to break out and is now fast becoming a musical launching pad for new talent in nine cities across the US. Communion encourages musical communities to grow and flourish between artists and their respective audiences and provides a platform for fans to music fans to discover new artists in a live environment. Past artists that have played Communion Club Nights include Ben Howard, James Bay, Sam Smith, Walk The Moon, Mumford And Sons, Hozier, Trampled By Turtles, Daughter, Chet Faker, Sarah Jarosz, Foxes, George Ezra, Bear's Den, Catfish And The Bottlemen, Gotye & Many More. For more information on Communion, visit

Parlour Tricks

Recipients of the Village Voice's award for Best Pop Band in New York 2014, PARLOUR TRICKS (formerly Lily & The Parlour Tricks) has been hailed as "the perfect combo of pretty and gritty" (The Wild Magazine). The sextet's seemingly incongruous combination of powerhouse angel-choir harmonies, thundering bass, drums and synth, and impressionistic guitar work makes for a kind of indie pop symmetry that somehow sounds "50's nostalgic, 90's familiar, and 2020 progressive all at once" (The Most Definitely). With their "punchy, infectious, danceable rhythms, clean guitar, dirty synth, and heavenly voices" (Village Voice) it's not too hard to see why Spotify took a shine to them, calling their sound "Vintage pop for the future". The band's home base is New York City but they've been steadily making their way across the country. Notable 2014 tour stops include performances at Bonnaroo, Summerfest, South By Southwest, a Lollapalooza afterparty with Portugal. The Man, and hometown showcases at CBGB and CMJ Festivals. PARLOUR TRICKS travels to Nashville frequently to work with their producer, Emery Dobyns. Two of the tracks they created together, "Requiem" and "Lovesongs", were released as singles in 2014. A larger release in the works for early 2015.

Small Time Napoleon

Small Time Napoleon began as the coalition of Dan Hardin and Jeff Thomas. Accomplished musicians in their own right, they've combined their affection for harmony, curiosity of rhythm, and fascination with the tunes of the past to create a unique musical experience. Adding to the sound is Ryan Fowler on drums and Dave Neill on bass. Both have a constantly expanding and increasingly impressive voice in their respective instruments and are great assets to the band.

With artists like Tom Waits, Elvis Costello, Rufus Wainwright, and John Prine in mind they've recently written, recorded, and released their debut EP which has received positive feedback from listeners and critics alike. Laura Shine, Assistant Program Director/On-Air Host at Louisville's own WFPK, says of the band, "Small Time Napoleon is poised for big time things. They are truly one of the most unique and exciting bands I've seen come out of Louisville in a very long time. Their music and instrumentation and vocals are exquisite!" More recently WFPK saw fit to place "Sidewinder", one of two singles to receive regular airplay, at number 54 on their "Top 100 Songs of 2013".

Each listener seems to hear a different thread of influences, Kyle Ware of Insider Louisville finds "their sound-a mad science blend of western swing, hot jazz and folk-is already starting to gel into something wholly singular." Regardless of the category, audiences walk away with their toes tapping, humming some syncopated number of modern nostalgia seldom heard from artists today.

$8 - $13

Off Sale

Upcoming Events

  • Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events.