Electric Six

When the rock and roll band releases a live album, it is a rite of passage. It is as if the band is in the throes of the ascension where it is seated on a silver throne or "silver chair" and it is then adorned with a crown of jewels and/or a scepter of jewels. The rock band is paid tribute by streams of devout Catholics from Latin America and many of these visitors are seen weeping uncontrollably as they kiss the jewels that adorn the band. The band is then driven down le Boulevard du Maurice Chagall, past the Great Obelisk of Bloody Deceased Patriots where the band is visible through the slight tint of the bulletproof canopy of the SUV in which it is riding. The band is greeted at the entrance of the royal palace by a collection of mealy-eyed royals and royalists who drape the band in velvet sashes. The band is then placed on the mezzanine at the top of The Ptolemic Stairs, where the band waves at onlookers for the next hour to hour and a half. This is the ascension. And it is celebrated by literally everyone who buys into it.

With the release of its first live album entitled Absolute Pleasure, Electric Six is being both lionized and canonized. Electric Six is being immortalized and this live record is the hallmark of a band that is now within shouting distance of a few of the people who have worked with the all-time greats. Leibowitz. Horsestein. Schurgin. Romanovsky. Edelweiss. Names that will forever be preserved in amber, and we are witnessing the next chapter folding beneath our very eyes.

Recorded on two nights in May 2012 at First Avenue in Minneapolis, Minnesota and The Double Door in Chicago, Illinois, Absolute Pleasure, is the quintessential Electric Six live set. It features selections from each of its 8 studio albums, with a slant toward material off its first album, Fire. Throw in a cover song to show you that we respect those who ascended before us, and there’s an Electric Six set. It is a painstakingly accurate representation of an Electric Six show and it is now for the first time ever duplicated, mass-produced, packaged and very much for sale.

When you buy this album you will be buying live versions of all the Electric Six songs you know from the radio and the YouTubes, but you will also hear your own screams compressed, digitized and sold back to you. Your screams...fuel Electric Six. And now you’re on a live record!!!! Our live versions of "Dirty Ball" and "She’s White" are awesome on this record! Your screams fuel us and we very much enjoy “pulling up to your pump." LOL!!!

When you buy into the idea of a band canonizing itself by selling you live versions of songs it has already released, you just bought yourself a winner. Electric Six is Tait Nucleus, The Colonel, Percussion World, Smorgasbord, Johnny Nashinal and Dick Valentine and Absolute Pleasure is their rite of passage into hardcore lionization. It is their first and only live record and it’s damn close to being a greatest hits as well! It is available October 9th on Metropolis Records in the United States and on Round Records in the UK and Europe. You can come see the band as it goes on tour this year in the United States and Europe on the Absolute Pleasure: Livin' The Dream tour.

Yip Deceiver, born out of Athens, Georgia, is the collaborative effort of producer/songwriter, Davey Pierce, and accountant/vibes manager, Nicolas "Dobby" Dobbratz. What had been a solo studio project for Pierce became a band with the addition of Dobby, and Yip Deceiverplayed their first show on New Year's Eve 2010 at Athens venue the 40 Watt club. Two years later, after the release of their debut EP and a split 7" with Kishi Bashi, both on Dobby's label, Aerobic International, Yip Deceiver is ready to drop their first LP, Medallius. The title encapsulates the elegance and coolness of their current lifestyle and implies the inevitable fame and fortune that awaits. No doubt, their sophomore effort will be drenched in hardships and disillusionment, the kind that so often come with such wealth and overwhelming pressure. In the meantime, the duo have enjoyed hours in the lab with outdated Midi hardware, tabletop technology, and analog and FM synths creating an electronic pop record with true soul and character. Medallius includes special guest appearances by vocalists Christine Pierce (Rareluth) and Simone Rubi (Rubies), as well as instrumentalists Zach Colwell (Chappo/Fancy colors/Sondre Lerche) and Clayton Rychlik (of Montreal). Look for Medallius due out Spring 2013 via Aerobic International (US) and Snowhite (Germany).

Antennas Up

When learning of a band who wears their fascination with spaceships, videogames and hyper-accentuated technology on their sleeve as Antennas Up does, one might make the assumption that their obsession is a reflection of a rather cold persona. Any pre-conceived notions of frigid, scientific vibes are quickly swept away by dance floor-worthy grooves that share loyalties to funk, neo-soul and electro-robot rock.

In 2008, Antennas Up formed in Kansas City and began work on their debut album. Guitarist and world traveler Bo McCall and drummer/programming genius The Ryantist met on their high school marching band's drumline. Meeting up with Kyle Akers in college, they began writing and touring together.

AU has recently shared the stage with Girl Talk, Electric Six, Ha Ha Tonka and an official showcase at 2010's South By Southwest. Their music has been featured in the best-selling Ipod app 'Tap Tap Revenge 3' and their Spaceship music video has reached more than 80,000 views on Youtube.


Tickets Available at the Door

add to your calendar

Who’s Going

Upcoming Events
The Riot Room


Electric Six with Yip Deceiver, Antennas Up

Wednesday, March 5 · 8:00 PM at The Riot Room

Tickets Available at the Door