Over the course of two records - 2011's Puros Exitos and 2012's John in Babeland - guitarist, producer, singer and Philadelphia transplant José Díaz turns casual conversations into leftfield anthems that may or may not bear a stylistic debt to "college rock," whatever that was. Neighbors' forthcoming third record, featuring 100% new songs and a 50% new band - drummer Nathan Anderson, bassist Jacob Jaffe (of iji and Younger Shoulder, among others), and guitarist Adriano Santi (of Blooper) - push into noisier, stranger territory, doing away with the established reference points of their past without sacrificing tunes and leading them toward something they can truly call their own.

Philadelphia-based Hurry began less as a band and more as a man singing songs to himself alone in his darkened apartment. "Was a cat there, too?" Oh, yes--there was a cat there, too. Up until recently, Hurry consisted exclusively of that one man--Matthew Scottoline (of Philadelphia's Everyone Everywhere)--joined by a revolving group of friends for performances, but recording and writing and basically doing all of the work himself. "So nobody else should get any credit for that stuff?" No! Just Matt!

Hurry, which cites influences in Yo La Tengo, Teenage Fanclub, Weezer, and Dinosaur Jr, remained a solo project until now. Or, well, until recently. Scottoline finally secured bandmates in cousins Rob and Joe Decarolis, and they join him on Hurry's debut LP, Everything/Nothing. Stereogum calls the album's first single "Oh Whitney" "simple, direct, and catchy as hell." Uproxx Music called it "refreshing as a fuzzed-out drink in a Death to False Metal desert." XPN's The Key called it, "the first single from [Everything/Nothing]." And if you don't want to believe those guys, I don't know what to tell you.

Amanda X

With an uninhibited musical dynamic that could only be birthed from three friends, Amanda X delivers with ethereal vocal harmonies, heavy hits and solid guitar work. Formed serendipitously in late spring of last year, Amanda X’s members set to work and self-released their first EP on tape a few months later.

Currently Amanda X are recording their first full length album with Jeff Zeigler of Uniform Recording. The band hopes to release the new full length sometime in early 2014. Amanda X is comprised of Cat Park of Bandname on guitar and vocals, Kat Bean on bass and vocals and Tiff Yoon on drums.



All shows are 21+ Proper I.D. required for admission

add to your calendar

Who’s Going


Upcoming Events
Johnny Brenda's


Neighbors with Hurry, Amanda X

Tuesday, October 8 · Doors 8:00 PM / Show 9:00 PM at Johnny Brenda's