Longwave formed at the dawn of the New York indie rock resurgence in 1999. The Brooklyn-
based band’s first release was the indie-distributed Endsongs. The band then signed to RCA
Records where it released the Dave Fridmann-produced The Strangest Things. Longwave
followed up with an EP, Life Of The Party, which was produced by Fridmann and future
producer of The National, Peter Katis. The band would enlist John Leckie (Radiohead, XTC, and
Stone Roses) to helm the production for the full-length There’s A Fire. In 2008 Longwave
released Secrets Are Sinister, also produced by Katis, through Original Signal Recordings.
To support these releases the band toured throughout the world sharing billing domestically
and overseas with their friends The Strokes. They’ve also toured with The National, The Vines,
The Doves, bloc party, Blue October, OKGO, and Kasabian, among others.
The band hasn’t been active since 2009, but are gearing up to release a single, “Stay With Me”,
and a new album to follow in early 2019.

The Veldt

On the trail of their successful Record Store Day 7” single ‘Symmetry /
Slow Grind’, Raleigh-based Schoolkids Records have announced the
coming release of The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake
Equation Mixtape EP by alternative soul and shoegaze pioneers The Veldt.
The four-piece will also be heading out on tour in the USA in support of
this release.
Identical twins Daniel and Danny Chavis and drummer Marvin Levi
originally hail from Raleigh/ Chapel Hill, North Carolina, but the brothers
have been East Village residents for the past 29 years. Bassist/
programmer Hayato Nakao, originally from Japan, hooked up with the
Chavis brothers while living in New York.
Lifting their band’s name from a Ray Bradbury science fiction story, their
own life stories have also been quite fantastic. After signing to Capitol
Records in 1989, The Veldt were soon in the studio with dream-gaze
guru Robin Guthrie working on their initial recordings, playing American
concert halls with Cocteau Twins and The Jesus and Mary Chain, and
recording ‘Marigolds’ with Lincoln Fong (Moose). Not long after, they
would record their classic ‘Afrodisiac’ (1994), produced by Ray Shulman
(The Sundays, Bjork, Sugarcubes) and released via Mercury Records.
They have also collaborated with TV On The Radio, Mos Def and Lady
Miss Kier (Deee-Lite), and shared the stage with The Pixies, Throwing
Muses, Echo & The Bunnymen, Cocteau Twins, Manic Street
Preachers, The Jesus and Mary Chain, Oasis, Chuck D, Living Colour,
and Schooly D.
This past year has also been pretty monumental, with highlights including
sold-out tours with Phantogram and The Brian Jonestown Massacre,
a European tour, two separate Canadian tours, appearance at some of
North America’s and Europe’s hottest psych fests, a spotlight feature
on Time Warner Cable TV and being named as east coast support for
Modern English.
Performing since they were children, the Chavis brothers’ musical roots
lead back to the church and southern juke-joints, and listening to music
that included gospel, Motown and Pink Floyd. The Veldt formed in the
late 80’s in Raleigh amongst the royalty of the legendary North Carolina
music scene, including bands such as Superchunk, Archers of Loaf,
The Connells, Dillon Fence, The dBs, Squirrel Nut Zippers, and Ryan
Adams. Pitchfork recently included their album ‘Afrodisiac’ in the top
50 shoegaze albums ever released. Their sound also inspired future
generations of alternative artists, including TV On the Radio.
This latest EP sees the band returning to their roots, albeit with plenty of
distortion, programmed beats and pedal effects. They’ve also involved
A.R.Kane, who produced ‘And It’s You’. Borrowing the title ‘The Shocking
Fuzz of Your Electric Fur’ from an E.E. Cummings poem, this EP includes
five tracks with a raging sound influenced equally by the emotional soul
of Marvin Gaye, free jazz warriors Sun Ra and Pharaoh Sanders, various
Drake hip-hop tracks, long-term musical kin Cocteau Twins, and their own
fertile electric imagination.

A romantic clash between your Dad's long lost favorite psych record and the soundtrack to a John Hughes film, Heaven ride a massive sonic wave in delivering their dear and dreamy tracks. Matt Sumrow and Mikey Jones created Heaven in the wake of touring and recording with artists such as DEAN and BRITTA, SWERVEDRIVER, AMBULANCE LTD, the COMAS,
SNOWDEN, THE BIG SLEEP and others. They released their sophomore LP, All Love Is Blue, on Little Cloud Records in 2018.



Lower Level Lounge opens at 7pm

Upcoming Events
The Bowery Ballroom