Special EFX Featuring Chieli Minucci

Guitarist, composer, and arranger Chieli Minucci is longtime leader of the Grammy-nominated jazz-fusion group SPECIAL EFX, featuring Chieli Minucci. A major force on the jazz and world music scene for 35 years, Chieli has recorded and released 31 CDs. “Deep as the Night” from the band’s 2017-18 CD with that same title was recently named the number one smooth jazz song for 2018 by Billboard Magazine. The music of Special EFX has been described as “accessible yet slightly experimental music that combined…smooth jazz, rock, and various African and Latin rhythms.”

Besides writing and performing his own music, Chieli shares his guitar brilliance throughout the entertainment world. He has recorded and performed with many top artists, such as Celine Dion, Lionel Richie, Jennifer Lopez, Jewel, Mark Anthony, Michael Bolton, Anastasia, as well as jazz artists Kirk Whalum, Jeff Lorber, Norman Brown, Bernie Williams, Marion Meadows, Lao Tizer, Mindi Abair, Rick Braun, Gerald Veasley, Omar Hakim, and many others. Although renowned in the jazz and pop world, Chieli is also a gifted television and film composer. He has won 3 Emmy Awards and been nominated 10 times for his eclectic compositional work. His music can also be heard on the soundtracks of the films Bowfinger, Legally Blonde, Panic, and others. Chieli’s original scoring work can be heard in live stage productions of Peter Pan 360, Dora the Explorer, Thomas the Tank Engine, and others.

Onstage with Chieli will be longtime Special EFX band members, keyboardist Jay Rowe, drummer Joel Rosenblatt and bassist Jerry Brooks.

Jay Rowe

Jay Rowe is a pianist and keyboard player from Milford Connecticut. For more than 10 years he has performed as a solo pianist and with other artists such as Heads Up recording artist Marion Meadows, Angela Bofill, Private Music recording artist Phil Perry, Shanachie recording artist Chieli Minucci and Special EFX, Positive Music recording artist Ken Navarro and Atlantic recording artist Wayman Tisdale. He has also composed music for GRP/Shanachie recording artist Nelson Rangell, Marion Meadows, and Peak recording artist Dotsero.

Jay also performs with his own group "The Jay Rowe Band". He has performed as the opening act for David Benoit, the Rippingtons, Bela Fleck and the Fleck Tones, Stanley Jordan, Jeff Lorber, and Candy Dulfer. As a solo recording artist he has recorded four CD's:

Joel Rosenblatt

Joel Rosenblatt is best known as the drummer for Spyro Gyra, one of the most successful pop-jazz groups ever. Joel’s varied early work including Dominican pianist Michel Camilo, bluesman Matt “Guitar” Murphy, jazz artist Paquito D’Rivera, and country-rock band Pure Prairie League, has given him a wide range of experience as well as making him one of the most diverse drummers around.

Having toured the world many times over, Joel brings an international musical awareness to the music. Currently the owner and main engineer at world class CliffSound Productions, Joel is also actively involved in producing and cultivating new artists. Below is a partial list of credits:

Bill Evans, Robben Ford, Larry Carlton, Chieli Minucci and Special EFX, Ken Navarro, Oz Noy, Chuck Loeb, Mike Manieri, Steve Khan, Randy Brecker, Lee Ritenour, Dave Grusin, Russel Ferrante, Michel Camilo , Bernie Williams, Eliane Elias, Michael Davis, Peter White, Manhattan Transfer and many more.

Jerry Brooks

Bass Player Jerry Brooks

$35.00 - $55.00 General Admission $40.00 Day Of Show


Reserve Seats for this show are subject to a $15 food and beverage minimum

Who’s Going

Upcoming Events
The Funky Biscuit